Dates: February 22-24 & March 1-3, 2019

Location:  Campus Theatre at 214 W. Hickory Street in Denton, Texas

Performance Times: Friday & Saturday 7:30pm | Sunday matinee 2pm

Written by the award-winning composer/lyricist team of Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens (Once on This Island, Seussical and Lucky Stiff), noted playwright Terrence McNally, and based on E.L. Doctorow's distinguished novel, Ragtime is the winner of the 1998 Tony Awards for Best Score, Book and Orchestrations, and both the Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle Awards for Best Musical and Best Score. Called by TIME Magazine "A triumph for the stage," and by the International Herald Tribune "the best musical in twenty years," this acclaimed musical is filled with pageantry, emotion and hope, bursting onto the stage like no other musical.

At the dawn of a new century, everything is changing... and anything is possible. Set in the volatile melting pot of turn-of-the-century New York, three distinctly American tales are woven together – that of a stifled upper-class wife, a determined Jewish immigrant and a daring young Harlem musician – united by their courage, compassion and belief in the promise of the future. Together, they confront history's timeless contradictions of wealth and poverty, freedom and prejudice, hope and despair... and what it means to live in America.

The Tony-winning score is just as diverse as the melting pot of America itself, drawing upon many musical styles, from the ragtime rhythms of Harlem and Tin Pan Alley to the klezmer of the Lower East Side, from bold brass band marches to delicate waltzes, from up-tempo banjo tunes to period parlor songs and expansive anthems. A truly unique and powerful portrait of America, Ragtime is sure to inspire actors and audiences alike!


Producer ... Scott Deck

Director ... Eric B. Ryan

Music Director ... John Norine, Jr.

Stage Manager ... Cathy Bardin

Assistant Stage Manager ... Tiffany Bergh

Costume Designer ... Jennifer Baldwin

Assistant Costume Designer ... Elsie Barrow

Wigs & Hair Design ... Lona Wolfe

Lighting Designer ... Les C. Deal

Sound Designer ... Pat Schaider

Properties Designer ... Sarah Key

Set Construction ... Paul Key

Rehearsal Accompanist ... Dami Jung


Mother ... Amanda Hart Bassett

Father ... Scott Bardin

Sarah ... Tatiana John

Younger Brother ... Jonathan Martin

Little Boy ... Trey Balentine

Coalhouse Walker, Jr. ... Rodney Morris

Tateh ... Anthony Ortega

Little Girl ... Sofia Guerra

Evelyn Nesbit ... Caitlin Jones

Emma Goldman ... Kate Dressler

Grandfather ... Doug Fowler

Harry Houdini / Understudy Tateh ... Abel Baldazo, Jr.

Sarah's Friend ... Damara Williams

Booker T. Washington ... Carlos Brumfield

JP Morgan ... Alfred Weser

Henry Ford ... Ryan Scott

Willie Conklin ... Will Cheek

Admiral Peary ... Johnny Williams

Ensemble ...

Bonnie Benning, Damon Berry, Melissa Feldman, Kristin Ford, T'onna Gilmore,

Danielle Graves, Dillon Hanson, Nolan Heermann, Joseph Kaminski, Belinda King,

Nicholas Lafleur, Isaiah McDaniels, Kimberly Mitchell, Sienna Riehle, Jenna Smith,

Mike Stretcher, Tommy Toliver, Hunter Vicars, Micaela Workman   |   tickets / box office:  940-382-1915   |   © 2020 Music Theatre of Denton  |  Webmaster